You Are a Good Father

I’ve been thinking about Fathers lately.

What does it mean to be a good father? I’ll never fill this role, but I’m so thankful to have an incredible daddy who daily reflects Christ’s love to me, and because of him, I know a little bit more of who God is.

How absolutely mind blowing is it that the very creator of the earth, the one who filled the seas and capped the mountains with the purest snow–he longs to show himself to us as a Father. I close my eyes and remember…what does it feel like to be held by a father. I remember my dad picking me up and I would surrender all my body weight to his steady hands. My little girl head would nestle itself into his daddy neck and the smell of his stetson aftershave became the scent of safety. He could hold me for hours, and I could run to him any time with full expectation that he would pick me up, even if i was perfectly capable of standing.

Maybe God just wants to hold us. Maybe he wants us to run to him and realize his arms are never going to get tired. His aroma is peace and safety and rain and sunshine, his embrace is home. His presence is a fortress and in him we are found and restored.

As someone who advocates for the fatherless, I’m constantly reminded of what a child misses when they are fatherless. It’s no wonder they are twice as likely to end up in prostitution and drugs and violence, because they never knew they were safe. They never laid in bed at night and played out scenes vin their head where robbers came to destroy the house, but daddy took care of everyone. They never saw their mom at her wits end until daddy came home and wrapped her in his embrace. They never knew.

I want people to know they have a Father even if they never had a dad. I want you to you to know you have a safe place where all your needs are met and your dreams are safe to be told. God, in his great love has adopted us as his children and rather than imposing himself as a master who wants nothing more than our skill set, he wants US, and he is proud of us not because of what we do but because of who He is and who he created us to be.

In the most frightening storm, in the most profound loneliness, I have a father who is there with me, brushing my hair back and calming my fears. I can’t convince you God is real, but I can guarantee if you ask him to come and be with you, he will run to you like a rushing wind and you will be overtaken and you will never be the same.

4-19 My response is to get down on my knees before the Father, this magnificent Father who parcels out all heaven and earth. I ask him to strengthen you by his Spirit—not a brute strength but a glorious inner strength—that Christ will live in you as you open the door and invite him in. And I ask him that with both feet planted firmly on love, you’ll be able to take in with all followers of Jesus the extravagant dimensions of Christ’s love. Reach out and experience the breadth! Test its length! Plumb the depths! Rise to the heights! Live full lives, full in the fullness of God.

20-21 God can do anything, you know—far more than you could ever imagine or guess or request in your wildest dreams! He does it not by pushing us around but by working within us, his Spirit deeply and gently within us.

Glory to God in the church!
Glory to God in the Messiah, in Jesus!
Glory down all the generations!
Glory through all millennia! Oh, yes!

Ephesians 3

One thought on “You Are a Good Father

  1. “Maybe God just wants to hold us. Maybe he wants us to run to him and realize his arms are never going to get tired. His aroma is peace and safety and rain and sunshine, his embrace is home. His presence is a fortress and in him we are found and restored…”

    Sarah, this was just what my Abba wanted me to read tonight…thank you for writing it. Keep writing what God puts on your heart because it strengthens His Body. I love you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

