It’s been a good year. I’ve learned so much, traveled to several countries, made new friends, s/o to Emily Adams 🙂  I look back truly in awe of the growth I see in my life, and I marvel at what’s to come. I’ve never dreaded getting older and I refuse to adopt the mentality that “being an adult sucks.” If I have insurance to pay, I am so thankful I have a job that provides benefits. If my car has problems, what?? I have a car?? I am a rich woman. If my friend is in need–I have cash reserves, I can  be generous. If I hear of an injustice, I have a voice. I have hands to serve and  feet to go. It is a good life–hence my blog title, shamelessly taken from The Fault in Our Stars. ‘It’s a good life, Hazel Grace,’ said sweet and wonderful Augustus Waters. It really is.

Here are a few things that have  made my life sweeter in 2k15:

 

BOOKS

  1. Scary Close by Donald Miller. I can’t say enough about this book. It revolutionized me with its startlingly simple truths. It’s raw, candid, inspirational, and so true. It’s all about dropping whatever act you’re putting on and getting into the knitty gritty thing of this whole relationship deal. Don writes with brutal honesty about his pithy track record and his propensity to be a false version of himself, thus sabotaging41WfPyp81lL._SX336_BO1,204,203,200_ any possibly healthy relationship. It helped me see several ways I could foster  healthy relationships and also relationships that were toxic and needed to end. Get it here
  2. Let Me Be a Woman : Elisabeth Elliot. With my deep and abiding love for studying how to be a godly, biblical woman, this book was the coup de gras. Elegant, truthful, and challenging, it invites women to live to a higher standard than what we oft see around us. 418XBxX4sfL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_ “To understand the meaning of womanhood we have to start with God. If He is indeed “Creator of all things visible and invisible” He is certainly in charge of all things, visible and invisible, stupendous and miniscule, magnificent and trivial. God has to be in charge of details if He is going to be in charge of the overall design.” ― Elisabeth Elliot, Let Me Be a Woman. Get it here
  3. What We Talk About When we Talk About God: Rob Bell. I have a soft spot in my heart for Rob. I don’t agree with all his theology, but he’s an amazing writer and I walked away from this book more in awe of God and  how goood He is.41s3I9v32fL._SX336_BO1,204,203,200_ That’s a good book. Get it here
  4. When God Writes Your Love Story: Eric and Leslie Ludy. I love love. I love stories that fill me with hope and anticipation. This is one of those awe inspiring, once in a million stories that we are beckoned into. We can have that too. I am so passionate about encouraging girls to pursue a counter cultural love story, a tale that doesn’t leave your heart in shards of broken relationships. YOU DON’T HAVE TO KISS  FROGS TO GET A PRINCE.51yv8nbpGJL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_ Although my prince has not yet written the first chapter in our story, I know he is coming, I know what characteristics he will possess, and I know beyond the shadow of a doubt, he is worth the wait. This book gave me so  much hope. If you are single and tired of how the world is approaching dating and marriage, read this. Get it here

So I’m getting carried away. I really love reading, but I’ll stop here. Let me know if you want more recommendations, though! I’m a book evangelist, haha!

MOVIES

  1. I don’t watch a lot of movies. I’m not a movie critic. I recommend watching You’ve Got Mail as often as possible. I will say, if anything, watch The Dropbox. It’s a documentary of an incredible thing that is happening in South Korea. A pastor and his wife are taking in unwanted orphan children and loving them with the vast love of Jesus.1432763600637.png They have even built a dropbox that women in very difficult circumstances are bringing their babies to, knowing Pastor Lee will take care  of them. It’s an astounding tale of the Father’s love in action, and it’s changing the world. It’s on Netflix, so you have no excuse not to watch it. Bring tissues.

TELEVISION.

  1. Friends. That is all.
  2. Oh, and Friday Night Lights. BEST. SHOW. EVER. #TEXASFOREVER #TIMRIGGINSHASMYHEART

RESTAURANT

  1. Chipotle (what more can you ask for in this life?)

DESTINATION

  1. Get on a plane and go to Mexico. It’s beautiful, and its people fill my heart with joy. And the food is amazing. I did the touristy Cozumel thing and the local thing in Xalapa, Veracruz. Go somewhere where a cruise ship is nowhere near. I love Mexico, and plan to return in 2016.xalapa-picture-of-mexico-2

 

I hope you’ve enjoyed my totally personal opinions about things I enjoyed this year. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed if you take my recommendations.  It’s been such a great year. God is so good and his mercies are so refreshingly new each morning. We are so blessed to be His.

BESTOFAD2015-e1442428034744

One thought on “Best of 2015

Leave a Reply

