The other day, I downloaded a podcast by one of my favorite pastors. He’s a hilarious hispanic guy who brings me such joy with his Spanish preaching. As I pressed play and started to fold my laundry, I was surprised to discover what an emotional reaction I was having to hearing someone speak in Spanish. I really don’t know how to explain it you, but suffice it to say I love the Spanish language. It is a rich, beautiful language spoken by so many people I love so dearly. I fully believe God has given me a love for Spanish and Spanish-speaking countries that is beyond the norm, and when in Latin America, it’s not uncommon for me to  get emotional when surrounded by worship in the language I love.  But in my room folding laundry?

Like a flood, all the pent-up desire I have to live in Honduras welled to the surface and more than anything, I wanted to be there. In that moment, I began to ask God why I didn’t feel like this more often. Whenever I leave Honduras each summer, I am so sad to go, and I earnestly pray that I can go back sooner rather than later. For at least a month, it’s almost unbearable, and after several years of going, I know it’s not the mission trip high. This love is real, people. So anyways, I was like, “Lord, why do I forget about Honduras after a few months? Why am I so happy right now to be living in Thomasville with my family? Shouldn’t I be longing for Central America every moment of every day?

And as clear as a bell, He said “It’s my grace.” What a priceless gift. God very clearly has me in Thomasville and I love it. I have a great job, the best family and friends, and few troubles here. God is giving me amazing opportunities here and I am so content. Isn’t it amazing that God gives us the supernatural ability to love where we are? He may be asking you to be somewhere different from the place on earth that makes your heart beat fast and your mind race and your soul dance, but He gives us grace to be were He’s called us.

I may never live in Honduras. I may live in Thomasville the rest of my life, and that is totally ok. My desire is to see the whole world, but above all, my desire is to please the Lord. I know He gave me a love for Latin America, but it’s HIS love, not mine, so He gets to decide what to do with it.

Has God given you something that you don’t feel like you’re getting to walk out right now? Is it a place? Is it a relationship? I want to encourage you to give it back to Him. It’s His anyways, and He’s a much better story teller. You can trust Him with your life.

This year, God is inviting me to a much deeper level of trust in Him, the trust that is built over years of getting to know someone. It’s a trust that goes beyond hoping someone won’t disappoint you. This trust is built on relationship with my Father, who I know deeply and truly and intimately. I KNOW He is good. I KNOW He loves me. I KNOW He  has good plans for me. I know this because we have history, He’s never failed me. I have books filled with tales of His goodness. I trust Him  because I KNOW Him.

I like to get yes and no answers from God and I really really like to know I’m on the right path and that I’m in His will, but He’s joyously shepherding me into trusting Him so much  I don’t have to know if the answer is yes or no. I simply keep following Him  because He is a GOOD Father….

Y’all. He is good. He knows us. He gave us dreams and desires and longings and passions and skills. He just wants us to trust Him with our lives. He has never let his kids down, and he never will. He won’t ruin your life or make you marry an ugly old person or make you move somewhere far away just to torture you or make you stay Thomasville forever because He wants to trap you. He loves you. He loves you. He wants to love you more.

I’m not in Honduras. I’m in Thomasville. And I couldn’t be happier.

IMG_6504

 

 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you.13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. Jeremiah 29:11

 

IMG_3323.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

