This morning, this phrase flitted through my mind like a butterfly.

What does being a woman have to do with worship?

The gender issue is a hot-button issue right now, and it’s one I’m extremely passionate about. Because my views are not very popular in mainstream culture, I’ve  begun to shrink back and wonder if I’m being too black and white.

And the answer is yes, I have been too black and white in some ways. Every day I learn more about what it means to be a godly woman, and that’s what we should  be doing, always growing, learning, maturing..

With that in mind, gender is way too important to stay silent about, because if the culture stalking about it, so should the church–with truth and love.

So..

What does being a woman have to do with worship?

 

Working Women

Women have been relegated to positions of servitude for centuries, whether it be the kitchen, caring for children, cleaning,  etc.. Women are expected to serve.

History tells us this was  largely for survival purposes. Men went out, and women maintained the home- and by maintained the home, I mean they  were very likely to be running a business in the home and working very hard to feed their family. Have you ever heard of a domestic economy or read Proverbs 31? She was a working woman, but to what end? To serve her family…

God wants women to work and he wants us to work hard.True fulfillment is found in a life poured out like an offering of worship.

I’ve vacillated between so many schools of thought.. Women should never work outside the home..Women should definitely work outside the home..And when I open the Word I’m faced with passages about topics that go way deeper than your employment status.

Rather than asking if women should work outside the home, let’s ask why.

Being a Christian is all about infusing Christ into every part of your life, into the way you act, speak, serve, dress, speak and love..Our life should be a continual act of worship, of putting others before ourselves. See Romans 12:

So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life—your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life—and place it before God as an offering. Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him. Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you.

 

 

As a woman who works, am I building an empire for myself  or am I building  a kingdom for God to dwell in?

We are asking the wrong questions! Instead of coming at it from a legalistic perspective, let’s jump in  with all we’ve got into living a life of service and selfless kindness, even at the expense of our pride.

I’ll never forget my time at Wesleyan College. We were sitting around in our Feminism 101 class and it was just after Thanksgiving. My professor asked us how we experienced sexism during the holidays.  Girls started telling stories about being home and being expected to help prepare food and instead of serving, they said they weren’t going to be in the kitchen just because they were a woman, so they sat in the living room instead and did nothing. Y’all, people starting applauding her ! I was heartbroken for my generation. It should be a joy to lay down our lives, but sadly too many of us have picked up the spirit of offense instead of laying ourselves down as an offering.

I fail constantly at being a servant, but it is the highest calling for men and women..We work hard not to accumulate castles in the sand, but to build families and nations for the glory of God.

It doesn’t matter if we feel like the standards are unfair or if we think  men have it easier. Life is not supposed to be easy, and we all have a sad story about being stereo-typed or labeled. Oh well. Let’s move on in grace.

As we look to God in adoration and worship  him in out every day lives, we will find ourselves serving others and working from a place of love, rather than sheer personal gain.

 

e59d39b6251ea64aeb0c1c28382d7564

Dressing Women

There is soooo much more to women than the clothes we wear, however, it’s a fantastic opportunity look at our motives and it’s a great way to serve others and live life as an offering of worship.

I do not get men. I  can’t relate to the struggles they have, but I CAN listen and do my best to serve and love them.

The question should not be, “How short can my shorts be?” But rather,  who am I glorifying with this outfit?

Am I glorifying my booty? My cleavage? Or am I honoring God by putting a little extra thought into coverage? It’s not, and I repeat NOT about legalism and rules and wearing a floor length skirt and being ashamed of your body. It’s about worship, about taking my wardrobe and thinking of others more than I think of myself. I talk to guys, and it matters to them, and if it matters to them, it matters to me. My life is not about me. I don’t feel smothered or oppressed or belittled when I choose modesty. I feel empowered and like a pearl of great price, worth protecting and cherishing. Say a guy comes to me and says something I’m wearing is making it really hard for him to focus ( After being dumbfounded I could ever have this affect on someone, hahahah) I would do whatever I had to do to change my actions to serve him, to honor him, because in honoring my brothers, I honor Christ.

This does not mean we lose our identities and obey every man. I trust you have the Holy Spirit  in you who leads and guides you in all things. Listen to him and look to him first, then listen to what the important guys in your life are saying. Live in such a way that you are un-offendable. It’s so easy to get offended and feel entitled to something, but daily, Jesus is teaching me to die to myself and take my cross up and follow him.  

I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.

Phillipians 3

Let’s change our perspective and take every possible opportunity to serve and worship God in every way we can.

 So eat your meals heartily, not worrying about what others say about you—you’re eating to God’s glory, after all, not to please them. As a matter of fact, do everything that way, heartily and freely to God’s glory. At the same time, don’t be callous in your exercise of freedom, thoughtlessly stepping on the toes of those who aren’t as free as you are. I try my best to be considerate of everyone’s feelings in all these matters; I hope you will be, too.

1 Corinthians 10

 

Leave a Reply

