The one who never grows weary, and stays ’til the end…The lyrics from Jonathan and Melissa Helser’s new song “Beautiful Jesus” are running through  my mind this morning.

Jesus, teach us how to be faithful, like You.

All we know is right here, this moment in front of us. “We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us! (1 Cor. 13). 

In a world where we get fast food, lightening fast cell pone service, instant dates on Tinder, and likes and follows and stars and favorites to cushion our fragile egos, God, teach us to be faithful when the dream doesn’t come quickly.

Teach me to be like David, anointed as king as a child, but not ready to rule quite yet. Teach me to be a faithful shepherd over what you have given me today. Sing songs to my heart as I seek you in the stillness, in the loneliness.

Teach  me to be like Rebekah, a faithful and obedient daughter, rooted in service and submission, who bravely followed You into a powerful marriage.

Teach me to be like Esther, who was kept hidden until such a time as this...

Teach me to wait like Hannah, refusing to doubt your promises for my life.

Teach me to be loyal like Ruth, who chose a diffucult, not so glamorous road, because she trusted in you before she trusted her circumstances.

Teach me to be like the Shulamite Woman, utterly captivated and completely enthralled by your love and your constant pursuit.

Teach me to be like Mary, bold in the face of doubt and accusations, committed to carry you well, with grace and truth.

Teach me to be like Paul, once proud but now beautifully broken before you.

Teach me to find you most intimately in the moments in which I am impatient and doubtful. Teach me to serve you right now, today, with the people you have placed in my life. Help me see your will for my life is not some complicated mystery. It’s doing the  next right thing, constantly attuned your voice.

As a nation God, teach us to place our trust in You. Our pocket change says it, but we so quickly forget it. Some trust in chariots and horses, but we trust in you!

As a church, God, teach us to be humble, never  forgetting our collective brokenness and need for grace and a Savior.

As women, teach us to return to the glorious femininity you called us to at the dawn of creation.  Help us see the strengths you have uniquely endowed us with, and help us take our eyes off ourselves and be completely immersed in service of others.

As human beings, teach us to die to our selfish hearts. Take away our need to be vindicated , understood, and heard. Teach us how to  be truly humble.

And as you stir in our hearts, I believe we will begin to see the world become a brighter place. Thank you God, that your plan was never to start change in the government. You want to start with us. So Lord, start with me.

 

 

 

One thought on “Being Faithful When Your Dreams Aren’t Coming True

Leave a Reply

