My Promise to You This Christmas

This Christmas I’m choosing a few things. I invite you to choose with me!

I choose to spend my energy on things which have eternal value, like relationships,  rather than striving to appear perfect on the outside.

I choose to focus on giving gifts that mean something, rather than merely proliferating clutter in people’s lives.

I choose to not get a gift for everyone, recognizing my acceptance  or position as a friend is not driven by ability to give the perfect gift.

I choose to sing Christmas music with gusto, breathing in the words of the carols that  have journeyed with me, but perhaps not into me. He has come for us, this Jesus, He’s the hope of all mankind…. God rest, ye merry gentlemen, let nothing you dismay-Remember!! Christ our Savior was born on Christmas Day! I choose awe, every time.

I choose to be proud of Christmas. I refuse to suppress the joy I feel in the season. I relish twinkle lights and trees and music and silly reindeer ears.   Christmas only comes once a year; I will enjoy it fully.

I choose to recognize the holidays are not joyous for all.  December is laced with painful memories and  sad anniversaries for many, and I pray for those who are suffering, allowing them to be where they are without dragging them into my glitzy whirlwhind.

I choose to say Merry Christmas as often as possible. To the grocery store cashier, a passerby, a neighbor, the person ringing the bell, friends, clients! Merry Christmas to all!!

Above all, I choose to bask in the meaning of this season. Christ has come! He has come for us!! He humbled himself, clothed himself in filthy humanity, and walked among us, breathing our air and walking upon our waves. He chose teenagers and he confounded kings as he made his grand entrance, and he’s been doing it ever since. He is Emmanuel, God with us, and for this I celebrate today, and every day.

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-11-43-33-am

And in despair I bowed my head;
“There is no peace on earth,” I said:
“For hate is strong,
And mocks the song
Of peace on earth, good-will to men!”

Then pealed the bells more loud and deep:
“God is not dead; nor doth he sleep!
The Wrong shall fail,
The Right prevail,
With peace on earth, good-will to men!”

Leave a Reply

