Amy March said something poignant in Little Women. She said “We’re all going to grow up sometime; we might as well know what we want.”

I look around me and see an appalling lack of desire in my generation. Perhaps, in an effort to be holy, we surrendered our desires at the foot of the cross, but really we should have surrendered our lives and let God move in our desires and goals.

I know 28 year olds who are going through the motions and when you ask them what they want in life, they freeze up like you’ve asked them to unearth science’s greatest mystery. I’ll say , “What are your goals?” And they’ll say, “Well, gee, I don’t know, to be happy I guess. To love God.” Now those things aren’t inherently evil, but they’re so general we could live our whole lives and not really know if we achieved them. 

The people I respect the most are the ones who, upon asking the goals question, respond with actual real things, rather than vague ideals.

Example: “I’d like to build a home,  become really successful at this trade I have, travel to Canada by 2020, and start a family.” OR, “I would love nothing more than to be a wife and mom, so I’m preparing now by serving my family and learning how to multitask and budget and cook.”

I’m not asking for career goals. I’m asking for life goals. So often we sit around and “wait on God,” when what we are really doing is living passively and being so afraid of failure we never venture to try anything.

I want to see a generation of men wake up and face commitment as a joy and not a burden.

I want to see women hold onto hope for their  dreams of a family instead of settling for the first nice guy that comes along. Just because he holds your hand doesn’t mean he’ll hold your heart. I want to women desire family again. When girls sheepishly say “I just want be a mom and wife,” I want to cry. Do you  not know that the hand that rocks the cradle rules the world?

I suppose what I’m really trying to say is “wake up!” Maybe God is waiting on you. Maybe he’s already given you everything you need for life and godliness and he’s waiting on you to  get to work.

Here are my goals and how I’m achieving them. Side note: it is scary to write out your goals, because they bring you face to face with your reality. Having goals means you’re not where you want to be, and that’s humbling. Sometimes, having goals makes you feel helpless, because they are goals you cannot singlehandedly achieve. That’s ok. It’s just an invitation to trust on a deeper level :).

  1. I want to have a family. To this end, I’m living in a family, attempting to learn how to serve and clean and cook. I’m praying daily, and I’m inviting others into my story.
  2. I want to write a book. To that end, I’m writing a lot, and continuing to work on my  book. 8 chapters so far!!
  3. I want to see the world!! So, I’m saving money and planning a really big adventure for 2017. Stay tuned.

Those are my goals. It doesn’t have to be a long list, it should probably be shorter and deeper rather than long and shallow.

Psalm 37

 Trust in the Lord and do good.
    Then you will live safely in the land and prosper.
 Take delight in the Lord,
    and he will give you your heart’s desires.

 Commit everything you do to the Lord.
    Trust him, and he will help you.
 He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn,
    and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun.

Be still in the presence of the Lord,
    and wait patiently for him to act.
Don’t worry about evil people who prosper
    or fret about their wicked schemes.

What are your goals?

 

4 thoughts on “The Fatal Flaw of My Generation

  1. Sarah, Once again you have hit the nail on the head! Many, many years ago I wrote a column for the newspaper. I used the same quote, “The hand that rocks the cradle rules the world.” I can honestly say that truth rings even clearer the longer I live and witness our world and the shape it’s in. Keep writing! Keep focused and know I am praying for you!

    Miss Eve

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. While I agree that striving for self-improvement and to better yourself in life is a positive thing, I think there is much to be said for gratitude and contentment in the circumstances life brings you and living in the now. To simply strive to be happy and love God is a wonderful thing.

    The leaders of the bible didn’t have the situations God brought to them in their goals or plans, in fact they had to surrender their goals and plans to trust God with a new uncertain future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

