No More New Year’s Resolutions 

Yesterday my sister said something so profound, it shaped how I  will approach 2017. 

For many of us, 2016 was full of transition and change and surprises and maybe even loss or death. A lot has happened in the last 365 days. My whole life looks quite different than it did this day last year. Consequently, the prospect of a new  beginning is invigorating and inspiring. 

What are my New Years resolutions? Starting January 1st, what’s going to be different? How will this year be better?

I was broaching this topic last night in the car with my sister as we drove back to her house from my brother’s house from celebrating Christmas. My sister kind of rolled her eyes and said “there’s nothing special about a new year. It’s just another day.”

Wait what?! I thought the first day of the year was somehow exalted above the other days, set apart, holy. 

She begged to differ. She said, “Sarah, every day can be a new year. You can decide to change at any point in the year. We use a calendar to mark the days, but that doesn’t really mean anything. Every day is a new day and a new year if we want it to be.”

It reminds me of a verse in Lamentations:”His mercies are new every morning!” Every day we wake up on this green earth is a gift and an opportunity to start fresh. Every day is a chance to be better. How freeing!!

I don’t have to wait until January to make my resolutions and I don’t have to  beat myself up in February when I haven’t accomplished all my life goals! 

Today is the day I will give my all toward a better life. 

I will love well today. I’ll work on my book today. I’ll build my business today. I’ll spend time with family today. And then tomorrow I’ll do it all again, relishing each moment and thanking God for his gift of Himself, which we open every day!
So forget New Years resolutions. How about new day  resolutions?;)

Leave a Reply

