Ever since the inauguration, I’ve been writing a blog post in my head. About our nation, about faith, about what it looks like to be a  woman in 2017, about the rights of the unborn and the tough calls presidents have to make.

Like so many of you,  I have  a lot of feelings. I have several things to say about each of those topics, and I can back those opinions up with facts and statistics and personal experience.

But every time I sit down to tell you how I really feel about the women’s march or the most recent executive order, I pause, and laugh to myself, because I might as well be a three year old trying to explain physics. I can’t possibly even begin to have an educated discussion about the refugee crisis because all I am fed is a constant diet of propaganda and biases from other three year olds. We don’t know what this decision means ultimately or why the president felt this was the best course of action.

We didn’t have breakfast at the White House this morning with all Trump’s men. We don’t know way more than we will ever know. But yet we posit ourselves as enlightened experts and make grandiose claims about the future of liberty as we know it.

I wasn’t at the Women’s March. I saw plenty of pictures and heard several speeches I desperately wish I could un-hear, but I wasn’t there. I wasn’t inside the mind of a woman who’s been brutally sexually abused and who  has never seen a godly man to help her believe they do exist. I wasn’t walking beside the girl who had an abortion, looking for acceptance and maybe even atonement. I can speculate on their intentions and I can psycho analyze their motives, but I am not in relationship with them. They don’t know me.

I did not wake up in a Syrian refugee camp this morning. I did not fear for my life, even once today. I literally have no idea what it’s like to feel hopeless. I have not wept the tears of a mother who has lost not one, not two, but three of her children to the violent hands of a nation she carries in the very words with which she identifies herself with.

I say this not to beg out of the responsibility we have as human beings to love, honor and care for one another. I say this not to absolve myself of the need to advocate for the unborn, the orphan and the widow. I say this because we are all making a lot of noise and it’s not producing any good.

I am not qualified to talk about most of the things I talk about. Honestly, I just like to debate sometimes. I don’t know how to help all the innocent Syrians. I can’t adequately convey true womanhood so you can really get it and see yourself the ay God sees you. I can’t undo your abortion and I can’t even adopt all the children.

But here is what I can do:

I can offer to help someone today.

I can research worthy organizations and send money to help people who are already helping the people I cannot reach on my own.

I can continue to educate myself on what’s going on in the world, but without the hope of fixing everyone’s problems and making the world right again.

I can advocate for  the unborn in my words, but most importantly in how I respond to situations that produce abortion and how I treat other people. I want to see a day where abortion is unthinkable.

I can speak about women and children and love and what God is teaching me, but not so I can convince you my way is better.

I can open my Bible today. I can seek the only One who has the answers to all our longings and questions. He is the only one who can heal trauma, give hope, restore dignity, and bring restoration. If our Facebook posts don’t end with Him being the answer and his grace being the guide and his word being the truth, then we are just a resounding gong and a clanging cymbal.

Jesus Christ is the only news worth sharing in 2017.

Oh, God, forgive me for my self centered logic and my black and white judgment calls. You are the only one who heals, who knows us intimately. Help me to see people the way you do, and point them to you, not just with my words, but with my life.

If I commit myself to this way of life, I surmise I will be much too busy to engage in social media disputes with people I haven’t seen in five years.

1 CORINTHIANS 13

If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate.

 If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.

 If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

 

2 thoughts on “The Only News Worth Sharing in 2017

Leave a Reply

