This has been my struggle lately.

I look at the way the world is turning, and how seemingly concrete things like gender  and marriage and the right to life are being questioned like never before.

Sometimes I post my thoughts about certain issues, and ‘m really not trying to be controversial, I just really feel passionately that what I believe is true,  because of what the Word of God says.

Then, inevitably, I receive a whole heck of a lot of flack.

I’m narrow-minded. I’m intolerant. I’m sexist, racist, homophobic, anti-woman,  etc. I find myself becoming extremely befuddled. Since when did thinking marriage was between a man and woman become offensive?

Why am I losing friends because I believe the feminist movement is one of the worst movements to ever happen?

Why is modesty seen as ridiculous and enslaving to women?

Why is every other woman lauded for speaking up and “using her voice” but me?

Why have I lost so many friends because I believe in abstinence? Why are these very common-sense views so absolutely counter-cultural??

Why am I offending so many people by walking this road?

This is a look inside my head. This is me being so very sad  when I look into your eyes and  I see you telling me you are happy with your life choices, but I  know your eyes are telling me another story.

This is me feeling lonely and feeling unable to process my feelings because I fear I sound self -righteous or prudish.

Sigh. 

What are you saying, Lord?

Many are saying, who can show us any good? Let the light of your face shine upon us, O Lord!

You have filled my heart with greater joy than when their grain and new wine abound. I will lie down and sleep in peace, for YOU, alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety. –Psalm 4:6-8

I read this passage yesterday and immediately felt the Lord invite me to lie down and sleep in peace. Yes, I believe these principles to be the path to life, but my job is not to be God’s defense attorney. My job is to behold his face and allow him to shine upon me. I should be obedient to speak when He tells me to, but  never to hear my own voice.

My job is to love people with his love, not mine. My job is to walk the walk He has called me to, trusting he really does have the whole world in his hands. My job is to worship him in my everyday conversation, not worry about what people think about me.

You can’t hold counter cultural opinions without offending anyone. Jesus offended practically everyone. He is as counter-cultural as they come.

This should not be our goal. To be passive or tolerant or hesitant to take a stance.

Our goal is run daily to the Word of God, to be kind over being nice, to love each person individually, to be bold when he says jump, and to be still when he says wait.

It’s not about a blanket approach to the “lost,” it’s about stopping for the one, listening to the Holy Spirit, and resting in peace, knowing the battle is not ours, but God’s.

That’s all I’ve got, folks. Go walk with God. Never compromise. Listen to his voice.  Live full of joy… and relax, already! This world is not our home!

 

xoxo

 

Sarah

Leave a Reply

